Get the latest news, bonuses and promotions!
Friendly sites: Live Scores Virtualbet24 - Predictions & Betting Tips GoalooUS Livescore
Betway Sports EN Logo

Field hockey- competitions



The biggest two field hockey tournaments are the Olympic Games tournament, and the Hockey World Cup, which is also held every 4 years. Apart from this, there is theChampions Trophy held each year for the six top-ranked teams. Field hockey has also been played at the Commonwealth Games since 1998. Amongst the men, India lead in Olympic competition, having won 8 golds (6 successive), while Pakistan lead in the world cup having lifted it 4 times. Amongst the women, Australia and Netherlands have 3 Olympic golds while Netherlands has clinched the World Cup 6 times. The Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament and Sultan Ibrahim Ismail Hockey Tournament is for the junior team but both tournament held annually in Malaysia, is becoming a prominent field hockey tournament where teams from around the world participate to win the cup.


India and Pakistan dominated men's hockey until the early 1980s, winning four of the first five world cups, but have become less prominent with the ascendancy of the Netherlands, Germany, New Zealand, Australia and Spain since the late 1980s, as grass playing surfaces were replaced with artificial turf (which conferred increased importance on athleticism). Other notable men's nations include Argentina, England (who combine with other British "Home Nations" to form the Great Britain side at Olympic events) and South Korea. Despite their recent drop in international rankings, Pakistan still holds the record of four World Cup wins.


The Netherlands was the predominant women's team before field hockey was added to Olympic events. In the early 1990s, Australia emerged as the strongest women's country although retirement of a number of players weakened the team. Other prominent women's teams are Argentina, China, Korea, Germany and South Africa.


As of June 2013 Germany's men's team and the Netherlands' women's teams lead the FIH world rankings.


This is a list of the major International field hockey tournaments, in chronological order. Tournaments included are:

• Olympic Games - held every four years.
• World Cup - held every four years, in between the Olympics.
• Champions Trophy - currently held every year, for the top 8 ranked nations.
• Champions Challenge - held every year for teams ranked 9th-16th in the world.
• Champions Challenge II - held every year for teams ranked 17th-24th in the world.


Although invitational or not open to all countries, the following are also considered international tournaments:

• Commonwealth Games – held every four years between members of the Commonwealth of Nations
• Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament - held annually in Malaysia, an invitational tournament.
• Sultan Ibrahim Ismail Hockey Tournament -held annually for athletes aged under-21 in Malaysia, an invitational tournament.






0percent soccer
Example alt